Day 15 – Run for Autism

capture
Click here to enter

This post is regarding a cause that’s very close to my heart. I’m not going to preach about the ins and outs of the charity as I know very little about them, but what I do know is that Autism is a something that needs all the funding, awareness and support it can get. My son Dexter was diagnosed as Autistic last year. The Autistic spectrum and varying severity within are massive. A diagnosis can have wildly different impacts on families depending on which end of the spectrum you’re on. I’m grateful to say that my son’s appears to be on the less severe end of the spectrum (touch wood), hopefully it stays that way. However while we were finding this out, and in a whirlwind of emotion we went through some tough times. As you’d expect we started learning as much about Autism as possible and about the condition. I soon realised how impactful and serious a condition it is. Autism isn’t “cured” and you don’t “grow out of it” you learn methods and skills to cope with it and this takes expertise which of course costs money.

As you’d expect we started learning as much about Autism as possible. I soon realised how

dexter
Here’s my lad – Dex

impactful and serious a condition it can be. Autism isn’t “cured” and you don’t “grow out of it” like I first believed. You learn methods and skills to cope with it and live with it and this takes expertise which of course costs money. Even then some people will never live independent lives.

 

I didn’t go looking for this event, it appeared on my works internal notice board, but I do believe that everything happens for a reason, I start running again and this pops up out of nowhere. So I’m sharing this and hoping at least one other person signs up off the back of this post. (long shot I know with only a handful of views)

It’s a virtual run so it can be done anywhere in the world on the day and it’s not about getting donations (although you can) so you don’t need to pester friends and family for money and chase people up. Basically, the entry fee goes straight towards the charity from what I read.

So if you’ve got a spare $20 and can run on the day give it a thought. You even get a medal at the end that they post out to you.

http://www.greatestvirtualrunnz.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

